

Award Name	Nomination Deadline	Award Description	Nomination Package Submitted to:
A.F. DAVIS SILVER MEDAL AWARD I, II, III, IV	Welding Journal Articles (year prior)	The A. F. Davis Silver Medal Awards were donated by the late A. F. Davis, formerly Vice President and Secretary of the Lincoln Electric Company. They recognize achievements in design. A silver medal and a suitable certificate will be awarded annually to each author of the papers selected by the AWS Committee on Awards as the best contribution to the progress of welding in the following categories: 1. Design of Welding Processes, machines and equipment 2. Maintenance, Repair and Surfacing 3. Design of welded structures and equipment, and 4. Designs that improve skills development, education and training	Selection chosen from Welding Journal article submissions
W. H. HOBART MEMORIAL MEDAL AWARD	Welding Journal Articles (year prior)	This award is sponsored by The Hobart Brothers Company to honor William H. Hobart, Sr., and is awarded annually to each author of the paper published during the previous calendar year in the <i>Welding Journal</i> and selected by the National Awards Committee as the best contribution to the progress of welding on the subject of pipe welding, welded pipe or similar applications, including the structural use of pipe but excluding the manufacturing of pipe.	Selection chosen from Welding Journal article submissions
CHARLES H. JENNINGS MEMORIAL AWARD	Welding Journal Articles (year prior)	This award is sponsored by friends and family of Charles H. Jennings, who served as AWS President during the 1951-52 year. The award will be given to the author or authors of an article, published during the previous calendar year in the <i>Welding Journal</i> , which describes work conducted primarily by students and faculty at a college or university and is considered to be the source of a most valuable contribution to welding literature.	Selection chosen from Welding Journal article submissions



Award Name Nomination Deadline Award Description Nomination Package Submitted to: JAMES F. LINCOLN Welding Journal The James F. Lincoln Gold Medal Award was Selection chosen from Articles donated by the late James F. Lincoln, formerly Welding Journal article **GOLD AWARD** (year prior) Chairman of the Board, The Lincoln Electric submissions Company. The certificate and medallion are awarded each year for the best paper that in the judgment of the Awards Committee, is the greatest original contribution to the advancement and use of welding published in the Welding Journal during the previous calendar year. In the event the paper has selected more than one author, each individual will receive a certificate and gold medal. Welding Journal The Board of Directors of the American Selection chosen from ROBERT L. PEASLEE Articles Welding Society established this award, Welding Journal article **MEMORIAL BRAZING** (year prior) sponsored by the Wall Colmonoy Corporation, submissions AND SOLDERING to honor Robert L. Peaslee for his many years **AWARD** of dedicated service to the industry and to AWS. This award will be given for a paper judged to be the best original contribution to the science or technology of brazing or soldering published in the Welding Journal during the previous calendar year. Welding Journal The Board of Directors of the American Selection chosen from McKAY-HELM AWARD Articles Welding Society originally established Welding Journal article the McKay-Helm Award sponsored by submissions (year prior) McKay Welding Products, a division of Hobart Brothers Company, to honor two pioneers of the Teledyne-McKay Company. James C. McKay was the President of the company for more than 30 years, and Dr. David F. Helm occupied the McKay chair in welding metallurgy at the Mellon Institute in Pittsburgh from 1934 to 1973. Currently, the award is sponsored by Hobart Brothers an ITW Company. It is awarded for the best contribution to the advancement of knowledge relative to the welding of low alloy steels, stainless steels, or the application of surfacing weld metals as represented in articles published in the Welding Journal during the previous calendar year (by an author or authors not employed by filler metal producers or their parent companies).



Award Name	Nomination Deadline	Award Description	Nomination Package Submitted to:
WARREN F. SAVAGE MEMORIAL AWARD	Welding Journal Articles (year prior)	The Warren F. Savage Memorial Award is administered by AWS and sponsored and endowed by friends and former students of Warren F. "Doc" Savage to recognize his lifetime accomplishments and dedication in the field of welding metallurgy. The award, to be presented annually, will recognize original and innovative research resulting in a better understanding of the metallurgical principles related to welding. It will be presented for the best paper on this topic published during the previous calendar year in the Research Supplement of the <i>Welding Journal</i> .	Selection chosen from Welding Journal article submissions
WILLIAM SPRARAGEN MEMORIAL AWARD	Welding Journal Articles (year prior)	The William Spraragen Award for the best research paper printed in the Research Supplement of the <i>Welding Journal</i> during the twelve-month period ending with the December issue. This award was established in 1961 as a means of honoring Mr. William Spraragen for his great contributions to the art and science of welding.	Selection chosen from Welding Journal article submissions